LegacyGT.com

Headgaskets on a '95

Hello everyone, first time Subie owner here. Just bought a '95 Legacy automatic with a 2.2L?. Got it for very cheap as it was overheated and the head gaskets are leaking. I have a receipt from a shop that did a test and confirmed exhaust gases in the coolant.

Can anyone give me a quick over view on whats involved with doing head gaskets? I'm a HD mechanic by trade and have a garage with tools but never worked on a boxer engine before. I've done some searching and read some places that the engine needs to come out but it looks to me like it shouldn't need to.

Do these engines survive an over heating fairly well? I'm guessing the heads will need to be re-surfaced. Do the blocks stand up well? Car ran fine with I drove it a short distance but the oil and AF smell burnt.

Any tips on what to look out for on these cars? Any links on where to get a factory manual, preferably PDF? Thanks!

http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php?t=130723

There are a few links to threads on here for head gaskets. I pulled the motor on mine for the sake of ease. Mine were not bad i just replaced them to be safe.

DOH! I just pulled the intake off! Now that you mentioned it I can definately see how the intake could stay on. Oh well.

What I do need help with is the timing belt and crank pulley. I've got the bolt out of the crank but I'm guessing its pressed on. Will a regular crank puller work on this or is it something special?

It looks like the crank pulley has to come off before the timing cover will fully come off. Should I position it a TDC first or do you worry about that later? Any tips on getting it to TDC on compression?

I know I should have a manual for this but everyone is closed today. I'll hopefully pick one up this week before it goes back together.

Thanks for the help.

Ok never mind about the crank pulley, after doing some research I found that its not pressed on it. A few good wacks with a rubber mallet and it wiggled off.