LegacyGT.com

Check engine light scaare

Hi,

Am a total newbie when it comes to cars but just purchased a Legacy GTB 1996 wagon. On the way home I was pushing it really hard to see how much power it had..which was all good until the 'Check Engine' light came on during one particularly intense hill climb

I stopped straight away and there was a small bubbling noise somewhere in the engine...I have had a similar noise overheating a car before...but the temp was not high on the dash.

Anyway I left it for 20 minutes, then turned engine on. The 'check engine' light was now off so I drove cautiously home.

Would this just have been a temporary problem, or is something broken and need fixing? I am really afraid to do much driving incase it has a problem...

Any advice cheers

Sounds like you have a bad hose somewhere and its cracked might be as simple as a replacement. It sounds like one as you said when you were doing the intense hill climb all your hoses were at max capacity and one cracked which caused a the check engine light to come on. When you were driving home cautiously it turned off as you did have that much moving through that broke hose.

I want to say its your turbo inlet as you maybe you noticed a loss in boost. I forgot if the gtb's had stock boost guages or not, but if so take a stare at that and see when your on the throttle does it go back down.

did you notice any changes in you temp guage cause my other theory it might be a radiator hose leak due to the bubling sound. But if you get the chance look around you engine bay, start up your car with hood close and take it around the block or so (or what ever to get the temp gauge up) then turn off the engine and start carefully squeezing hoses. All your hoses should be hot and squishy, any that are still hard and feel kinda crusty need to be changed as those are prone to cracking.

hope this helps

westcoast

check the head gasket :)