LegacyGT.com

Fuel/Start problems

After 225K and really NO other problems - just routine maintenance - our trusty rusty 1993 Legacy wagon won't start. My wife said it drove fine to work but when she came out at lunch to run an errand it wouldn't start. Here's my diagonosis so far.

Has a spark

half tank fuel

Turns over fine

Fuses in engine compartment and drivers kick panel are good - not sure about the square box deals (switches?).

No fuel in/out at the canister on the drivers side fender.

I suspect fuel pump but wonder is there a fuse or other electrical switch to check first?

What pump to use?

How to I replace the fuel pump - is it acccessible from inside the car and done with std. hand tools?

I am a decent backyard mechanic currently without a job so I want to fix this myself if I can.

Really apprectiate any thoughts or help!

jdn

I'd agree, bad fuel pump. I haven't done this on my Legacy, but the FSM says there is an access panel in the trunk floor.

Let me know if you have a 2.2L or a 2.5L and I'll tell you what to check electrically, to determine that its actually the pump at fault and not the wiring.

I'm actually curious as to why the car didn't loose power and then die? My wife is fairly trustworthy and so if it lost power I think she'd know. Just seems a bit odd that a fuel pump just suddenly quits?

Before you do any of this, I'd make sure you can't hear the fuel pump running. You should hear it for a few seconds when you turn the key to on but don't crank the motor. If you hear it, this isn't your issue.