LegacyGT.com

impreza sti to legacy

fredxday

hi, I'm new to working on cars, complete newb.

i own a 97 legacy gt 2.5 and had a few questions.

i want to drop a impreza STI in to my car, so before i do something stupid like spending a few thousand on an engine/tranny i wanted to get a few peoples opinions on it, as well as other third party's that im asking about it.

its not 100% on the engine I would be purchasing yet, but I saw I believe an 04' 6 speed on ebay. and my questions are as follow;

the transmission being a 6 speed, how does this conflict with a 5 speed legacy? because im a newb Im looking at it as my sifter being built for a 5 speed. would this need to be rebuilt and fitted with one for a 6 speed? also would I need the computer to that same model/engine to run 6 speed?

also, doping the engine in. would it even work/fit? I figure I'd save alot more money just buying a turbo sti engine then having the whole thing completely rebuilt just to put a turbo in. I read some where that if I'm pushing more then 7/8lb turbo I'd end up blowing the head gasket.. and I definitely don't want to be doing more damage then good

it any one has some good suggestions, tips or alternatives it'd be much appreciated thanks.

btw. I am aware of the electrical component hell that comes along with this, and I'm making the care for performance, not luxury. so like I said, any alternatives are greatly appreciated.

i believe the cases for the 5mt and 6mt are different and thus you would need the driveshaft swapped out.

and if you are going to swap the STi tranny in..then you would need to swap out a lot of other things..

will it directly bolt up?...i dont know..but i know there are a few threads here from guys doing a swap to 6mt from 5mt. you could read up on those.

as for the engine...i would imagine that would drop right in if you already have a 2.5l engine.