LegacyGT.com

Hardwire portable GPS help

exsterminator

I am planning on purchasing a portable GPS in the near future which I want to semi-permanently install in the cubby area above the clock. By semi-permanently, I mean it will stay in the car the whole time unless I need to use it in the wife's car, which I imagine will be rarely. So in other words, I want to be able to take the actual unit out whenever I want but leave the power cable and wiring intact.

However, I want to conceal the wiring while making use of the cigarette lighter outlet under the HVAC by running the power through the back of the cubby and down to the outlet. I have no real experience in any of this but can follow good instructions well and am confident to know when I can do something and when something is beyond my abilities. I have searched for some guides here on how to hardwire to the cigarette lighter outlet and have not come with anything that gives a good step-by-step. Any advice please or knowledge on how to do this?

Also, can anyone link a beginner's guide to eletrical circuits and wiring so I can learn what this stuff is all about? I want to look into some of the LED mods for the footwells, drink holders etc but it is way above my comfort level now.

Thanks all,

I would just tap into a power wire behind the cubby, and find a ground back there and be done with it. Purchase a 2nd power cord for the GPS unit, and hack that up (google hard wiring whatever specific model GPS you get and I'm sure someone's done it in their car and will have pics of what's positive and negative) in the power cord.

For something similar (to see how it's actually done), search on here for Radar hard wire, and you should find some threads about hard wiring a radar detector. Same idea, and it'll give you an idea of what you're in for.