LegacyGT.com

How do you know when the turbo starts to go

Yesterday I started hearing a whine (more like a whaa) at WOT and a bit below. Nothing at idle and gentle acceleration. Sounds like its coming from the right side engine bay . I already looked at the intake system and couldn't find any leaks. Power seems to be down then again yesterday was one of the hottest days here in South fla. Only thing I have done lately is change the oil on Sat with Rotella synthetic which I have been using for 6 months now. Car has 80,000 miles and has run like a champ. Really hope its not the Turbo as I was hoping to get to 100 k with it.

Call me crazy but both times I've lost a turbo I was alerted by a slide-whistle type noise that went from low to high as I hit the gas. After that the turbo was trash. I have no idea what made the noise unless it was oil being forced where it normally doesn't go.

I had a gasket that went bad on my UP, if its the same issue, the gasket could just be getting worse which is causing you to lose even more power.

For the cheaper option we can hope... But a new turbo is always a nice thought :) Get the TD05-16G, its only $650 brand new... (Just IMO)

If I pass you on the right, I'm flipping you off.

I'll check the UP today. Already had a problem previously when the UP lower bolts vibrated loose . It was much louder then but also had power loss.

TD05 -16g not a bad idea. How does it spool vs our vf-40. One thing I am looking for is not losing the great spool we get. I know of others that are happy with the Vf 42 but have missed the low end spool of the Vf 40 none-the-less