LegacyGT.com

05 LGT or 06-07 Spec.B for $8-10K more??

Hey everyone, I'm a total newbie here so please go easy on me ;). I am in the market for a fast & fun, yet roomy 4-door sedan....the 2 cars I am looking at are the Mazdaspeed6 & the LGT. A friend of mine just got a MS6 & I must say that car is a ROCKET! It also handles extremely well, but most of the ones I am finding are the sport model which has cloth seats & no moonroof. I am leaning towards the Legacy because it feels a little more solid & comfortable, I like the body lines better, & since I will probably upgrade it in the future it appears the aftermarket support of the Subaru is much stronger.

So, locally there is a nice 05 LGT sedan with about 49K miles, as well as a beautiful 07 Spec.B with only 18K miles, but the Spec.B is almost $10K more than the 05! I have read up on what the Spec.B has over the normal GT, & from a performance standpoint it comes down to the suspension, the 6-speed, & the Torsen diff. So what do you guys think, are those items worth it? I am a veteran autocrosser, so things like steering feedback, gearing, etc are all important factors to me. How is the 6-speed geared? Is 6th extra tall, or are the others just spaced closer together? What are the aftermarket suspension options compared to the standard strut set-up in the regular GT? I know the Spec.Bs are rare, I think I read there are less 07s than 06s (like 432??). I like rare, I own a Galant VR4 as well as an 94 R Package Miata, the questions is how much is that worth?? I know most of this is subjective, just curious what you guys think. Thanks in advance everyone, I hope to be a proud owner here very soon.

sounds priced a little high for the 07...but I consider the 07 SpecB the best of the legacys (lighter than the 08s, nicer grill and bumper IMO, and black on blue interior vs. black on black).