LegacyGT.com

2.5i power mods.

so I have a 2.5i which has almost 170hp, but Im thinking about improving hps to 200hp, can anyone help? its only +30hp which isnt so hard to get, but I'm not an expert and Im not sure how.

Thanks.

p.s.: if you refer to parts, please post a link if possible.

To get close to 200chp, you can do it with bolt-ons, and those include:

-2.25" Cat-Back

-2.25" Race Pipe or High-Flow Cat (most use a high-flow cat)

-Headers (equal-length like TWE & Cobb will garner slightly more ponies but cost about twice as much and you lose the boxer rumble of the unequal-length headers like Borla for a more refined exhaust note)

-Lightweight pulleys will free up some hp that would normally be lost to the heavy rotating mass of the stock pulley, lightweight accessory pulley help slighty as well, lighter pulleys and a lighter flywheel really help response more than hp though.

-Cold air intake like the Cobb/PDM units that many currently use.

But at this point, you're probably going to fall still a little short of 200chp as I'm told, probably about 190-195chp, but nearly 200lb-ft of torque depending on header and various components used. To jump the barrier, changing your cams, breathing habbits is needed. Beyond this, you can have the heads blueprinted and that alone will make probably the largest single gains as airflow will be much smoother, but it would also be the most costly solution as well.

Think of your engine as a big air pump, how can you make the air flow as smoothly and efficiently as possible? Removing bottlenecks, helping the engine extract exhaust gasses (exhaust gas scavaging), producing smoother flow in and out, and having the right valve lift and timing are key factors.