LegacyGT.com

Teh n00b

dragonman586

Hello there all. I'm a n00b playing with car audio. I have an 06 obsidian black pearl 2.5i legacy (sorry didn't have the money for a gt :lol:) Well anyways I started my journey by changing out my head unit. I purchased a pioneer DEH-P6900ub. Its a good head if i do say so myself and crutchfield rocks because i got a free wire harness, dash kit, and antenna adapter. And the master sheet was great as well. Well folks I need some help. I was wondering what to do next. I was considering a 6" bazooka tube or a small powered sub to provide me better bass. (My head has 3 4v outputs for subs). Or the alternative I was considering was to install Polk Audio DB-650's and a small amp with at least the speaker kit from dynamat. I was also wondering if I would need baffles? I'm not looking to create enough power to wake the dead but I do want clear sound. And I'm just a broke college student so I'm not looking to spend much. Any and all help will be appreciated. I know That I am a total n00b. But please don't flame me...pretty please?

crutchfield has (or as least had like a month ago) the db 650's on sale, i got 2 pairs for like $130 shipped. as you've read on here i'm sure, the db650's are great speakers...

as for the sub, i would get AT LEAST a 10, probably a 12. you can always turn the speaker down if you don't want the bass quite so loud, but you can only turn that little 6" up so much. and when you turn it all the way up, it'll probably sound distorted. a 10" ported or a 12" sealed or ported should sound really balanced and clean. also, the cost is not that much more, and you won't have to worry about not likeing the 6 and having to upgrade later. do it right the first time : )