LegacyGT.com

Questions for locals to Austin area

Meltdown07

Hey guys, I was hoping for some feedback/suggestions from any of you that might be local to the Austin area.

A little background- my girlfriend is moving down to Austin to begin her PhD studies at Texas. I'm looking to possibly move down with her. I'm 25, she's 24. We've been together about 2.5 years. If I do follow her we want to find a house/condo together in Austin there somewhere. Just have a few questions about the area and I want some advice from real people that are local to the area.

1. How is Austin really? I always read about how great it is. How the nightlife is #1 in the US, etc. Is it a safe area?

2. How is the job market in Austin? I'm an electrical engineer, and obviously I will need to find a job down there if I'm going to move. :)

3. Music scene? I'm a big fan of rock, I'm in a band up in Chicago right now. I love seeing local bands live. I realize no one on here may be interested to know the answer, but is there a rock scene in Austin?

4. Weather/Climate/Wildlife concerns, etc? Obviously this will be an adjustment coming from Chicago, but is there anything I should be aware of other than warm and dry?

5.LGT community? How many of you are in/near Austin? I enjoy my meets up here in Chicago, and if I move I'd obviously like to be involved in some sort of Legacy group down there.

6. Anything else I need to know?

Thanks in advance guys. I appreciate any feedback you guys might have.

Go Cardinals!

OK. Austin, Yes Austin, we like it weird here, just ask Leslie the local Tranny who ran for mayor.