LegacyGT.com

Shifting problems

mightyS

I have the 5 speed manual in the regular Legacy GT. I am new to driving a manual in a car. I learned how to drive stick on tractors! On my car, 1st and 2nd gears seem to stick. I have to force the gear shift hard especially to get from 1st to 2nd. 3rd and 4th are very smooth. Is there a trick to get the gears to shift quicker and smoother? Will shifting become easier after I drive it more? I only have 650 miles on it.

Its still sticking even with the clutch pedal all the way to the floor? Does it make a noise or anything? Honestly I'd take it to the dealer if I were you. Something might be bent or broken and you dont want to get locked into(or out of) a gear while you're on the road.

Well maybe sticking was the wrong word to describe it. It gets out the gear easily. It just takes some force to get it into 1st or 2nd. If I am not moving, I can push the clutch in and it shifts into all the gears smoothly. Once moving, it takes force to get it into 2nd. I'm not sure if it will be easier over time, or if I need to get it checked.

Hmmm. That sounds like a synchro issue. (Not necessarily a problem though) When moving, and not in traffic, try slightly pushing into gear (don't grind it) while revving up the engine slowly. You will find that it will fall smoothly into gear as the proper RPM range is attained. I suspect that the transmission is not syncing up in a way that you are expecting. When moving, all the gears are still turning which is why it's easier when the car is standing still to get it in the gear you want. But, I drive an AT. Maybe someone with an MT in their Legacy can elaborate?