LegacyGT.com

Oil filter size

OK...I know I brought this up once before but tomorrow I have to change the oil in the wife's A4 and the size of the filter is freaking huge. They increased the size of the filter due to sludge problems. Now I am not an automotive engineer but it just seems like an engine with 40% displacement should have a similarly sized filter. As you can see in the pic, the filter for the 1.8 liter A4 is the size of a coffee can and the filter for the 2.5 liter Subaru is maybe 1/5th the size. Does this really make sense to anyone? I know part of the problem with the A4 was their oil change interval of 10k miles on regular dino oil but I still can't see why the filters would be so different in size. Any thoughts?

Img_0490_small.jpg.a460a78b5c87ad3bc383e61590719649.jpg

Well I am not sure there was an actual recall but that doesn't really matter....What is different in the Audi design that makes it more prone to sludge to begin with? I know they changed the filter to hopefully catch the extra crap in the oil and not by-pass the filter but I thought they also made the change for extra cooling capacity. When I look at the Subaru design, the filter is incredibly small and right next to the exhaust so the oil will be picking up a lot of heat and potentially breaking down the oil.

It's surface area that counts and not the external size.

The OEM oil filter from Toyo Roki (sp?) is the best in that regards. There have been cut ups done on nabisco.

If you're really interested, the OEM Honda Odyssey oil filter will fit and is twice as large externally. I have seen Acura oil filters cut up and they were primo quality.

BTW, I think Audi's solution is a lame bandaid for a poor design. Sludge build up is usually caused by poor oil gallery design.

BTW, I think Audi's solution is a lame bandaid for a poor design. Sludge build up is usually caused by poor oil gallery design.