LegacyGT.com

More Wheel-Tire Fitment Questions

MtnSub

Many great posts on wheel/tire fitment, but some conflicting statements and many comments before actual experience that exists today. Any reason that a 18x8/40/225 will fit better than 17/8/45/225? Early posts suggest that 18x8/225s will require fender roll or caution. Is that really true after experience? Tirerack list a number of 18x8/225 combos for Leg GT/05. Anyone know about Speed Star SP1s 17x8s from Japan that just showed up on Tirerack list? Again even Tirerack site has conflicting info. Site says 18x8 for Speed Star only in one place and offers optional 17x8 in another part of site. Don't want any nasty surprises with wheel/tire combos.

I'm no expert but I guess you'd want to be as close to the OEM total wheel height as possible. 1 inche = 2.54 cm OEM wheel = 215/45/17 total wheel height = (17*2.54)+(0.45*215/10) = 52.855 cm proposed 18" wheel = 225/40/18 total wheel height = (18*2.54)+(0.40*225/10) = 54.72 cm proposed 17" wheel = 225/45/17 total wheel height = (17*2.54)+(0.45*225/10) = 53.305 cm So your proposed 17" wheel/tire combo may be a better fit for the Legacy GT.

2005 Legacy GT Wagon Ltd 5EAT Garnet Red :cool:

1999 GTI VR6 Black - sold but not forgotten... :(