LegacyGT.com

Crucial UP & DP Installed!

aksnow7

Well, had a day off from work yesterday so I decided to jump on this project. Now I am not a mechanic and I would've never tried this install without having such a great website to consult. I've done a few simpler mods (intake, HIDs, etc) but nothing like this. Thank you to anyone that has posted a walkthrough or tips on this install, because I used every bit of it! Crucial's instructions were great but having this site helped with the details. It took me about 8 hours from key off to key on. Mostly waiting for the PBblaster to eat through some of the tougher bolts although most came off fairly easily(~4000 miles). I was also by myself for most of it, I had help for about an hour but having another hand throughout would've helped GREATLY, but hell I didn't want to wait for friends/family to get off work :lol:

To the important part... I started it and noticed right away it sounded a little throatier. Immediately checked the dash for a CEL and there was none, resistor mod worked. I walked around the front and sides and couldn't hear anything that sounded like a leak. Reved a little and you can definitely hear the turbo more but still nothing that sounded like an exhaust leak, so I'm feeling pretty happy about that. I will definitely go back and re-torque after a few heatcycles. I let it idle for a bit letting the blaster smoke off, reminded me of an old hot rod with the smell and smoke :lol:

So next was the test drive... I pulled out of the driveway onto my street (which happens to be a closed course racetrack, btw…HA! :icon_tong ). Got on the gas and I could feel the difference immediately, quicker spool up and a lot more up top! Now this is without a tune, my AP hasn't arrived yet so I assume it will only get better. I didn't get to drive for long but I will take it out tonight after work and do a more thorough test.