LegacyGT.com

How much to hold a car? (deposit)

Meltdown07

How much do dealers typically need to hold a car? I found the '05 LGT I wanted in the color combo I want, but I wont be able to finance until next week sometime.

Reason being is that I am a fresh college graduate, that just accepted a job offer, and need a new car. I will have my written offer in my hands next tuesday when I go to sign the paperwork. I plan on purchasing next week, but in the meantime I want to hold this car because its the exact combo I want. How much money down do I need to give a dealer to hold it for me? I dont have a ton of liquidity right now, but I'll have plenty of money very soon.

Any thoughts or experience from other forum users, or dealers out there?

Go Cardinals!

Okay well they wont hold it for any amount because they "have been burned before".

Anyway, I got an internet quote for a new 05 LGT Limited in the color combination i wanted for 25,040. The MSRP is $30,900. How does this sound?

This is my first car purchase, so forgive the newbie questions. How much do title and registration typically run the dealer. I'm in Illinois if that helps. I was approved for financing by my bank for $27k, and I just want to make sure I dont need more than that. I want no more than $27k OTD. Is that reasonable, what do you think?

Go Cardinals!

Welcome to the site.

As long as this is not one of the wind-damaged cars that the dealership bought from Subaru, a demo car with a lot of miles, or a used car that they're reselling, this sounds like a great deal.