LegacyGT.com

Need help! XM Commander install!

lfcorrea

I spent all day installing the XM Commander I got for Christmas, actually it didn't take that long, but once I ran into a problem I got stuck and still am...

I had previously installed Jazzy's board, and an OEM subwoofer, both without a problem. Today I took the whole dash apart again, drilled holes in the cubby, fit everything perfectly, but once time came to get POWER to the unit, I didn't know what to do. I wanted to tap into the power outlet (cigarette lighter) under the radio, i tried everything, but it was all trial and error since I have never done anything like it before.

The Commander comes with three wires, a red (labeled ACC), a yellow (labeled 12V BATT), and black (ground). I thought I could connect the red to the back of the lighter with an alligator clamp, and the ground to the side of the radio.

Nothing worked, and after hours of trying I was confused and tried connecting something else to the cigarette lighter and came to realize there was no power whatsoever going to the lighter or the little light in the ashtray.

The only thing I did differently then my previous setup is the fact I disconnected the little light within the cubby, as the XM unit sits there now.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

I'm assuming the commander has some kind of function that requires it to have constant power...like for radio memory presets or something.

Black goes to anything metal on the car

Red goes to the cig lighter (onlly on with ignition or in the ACC position)

yellow needs a constant power source, one of the wires going into the radio is like that

(Updated 8/22/17)

2005 Outback FMT

Running on Electrons