LegacyGT.com

Has anyone ordered the AVO double din bezel?

fweasel

http://www.avoturboworld.com/avoshop/images/300_doubledin001.jpg

There was some speculation a while back about different vent shapes between the JDM and US cars and whether or not this piece would work in our cars. Just wondering if someone has already tried it out before I order it.

ignore him, he'll go away.

I'd be tempted to order one, since my AMEX card will allow me to return any "non-returnable" item under about $350. I'm not exactly sure how it works since I've never tried it before. Does AVO take American Express? In any case, I don't have my LGT yet...just a piece of paper with a VIN scribbled on it.

It has been said before that this piece is asymmetrical, so it might fit, but there will be fitment issues. It's a lot of money for an ill-fitting part, especially considering that the info panel must be removed or relocated to the ashtray. You might be able to get a shop to do something custom that fits better for about the same $$

The info panel is an easy fix using the relocation piece from AVO. $260 isn't bad in my book considering it comes with mounting brackets as well. I am skilled enough to do my own installation and electrical work, but couldn't fab my way out of a cardbord box.

I'm curious if the panel itself has the same outter dimensions as the USDM piece and just the vent ducts themselves are in a different position. If that were the case, those ducts are long enough to be coerced and modified to fit without any viable trace of the hack job.

The problem is that its not going to fit.

its designed for RHD cars, which if you look closely, the side that goes towards the driver gets an extra slant

compare to a usdm lgt

http://www.edmunds.com/media/news/column/letterstoeditors/04.sept/05.subaru.legacy.gt.int.500.jpg

vs

http://www.subaru.co.jp/legacy/b4/interior/01/imgs/top.jpg

Just face it SOA hates us :)