LegacyGT.com

2005 Outback: I may have messed up my brake system pretty good- please help

Howdy folks.

I am a delivery driver and use my 2005 Outback for work. It has about 200,000 miles. I have been having problems with my front left (driver side) brake caliper and I need to replace the bracket (won't slide); however, I had been just replacing and chewing through brake pads in the mean time.

I started hearing a scraping noise so I once again replaced my front left pads; however, the noised didn't stop after I went into work.

It turns out that the problem was actually my rear-left pads (I didn't have time to look at them as I was rushing before work). As I was pulling out of the restaurant, I heard a metal object drop out and hit the ground, which turned out to be the remains of one of my rear-left brake pads. I was driving down the road and had to brake hard because of a dumb driver. Suddenly, a few minutes later I had no brake pressure.

I limped through my deliveries and back home by pushing all the way down on the brake and getting a little bit of pressure (along with an intense grinding sound). I know I should have just parked the car and immediately ceased operation in order to minimize damage; however, we were very busy and I had old deliveries in my car and in the heat of the moment I decided to just get it back home.

I got back and realized I was leaking brake fluid- heavily- from my rear-left caliper. I parked the car in the back of the restaurant and left it there for a couple days. Then I topped off the brake fluid in order to get it home (no grinding sound this time, I think the caliper stopped working).