LegacyGT.com

Gas Fill Up Problems?

willmaxr

As the title says, real issues filling up the tank for the first time. I got to listen in agony over the cell phone yesterday as my wife was screaming the gas was pouring out onto the car. Yikes! So she got $4 in and I took it today. Figuring I'll have no problem.

I couldn't open the gas pump over 1/4 flow or it would shut off like the car was full. The car was definatly empty. It took me about 10 minutes at very slow fill speed to get $18 into the tank. I tried the nozzle all the way in, 1/2 in, and almost out, but to no avail.

Anyone?

Searched, with no results for this problem.

Are you sure it's the problem with the car and not the pump? Have you tried other gas stations?

Yeah. My girl tried that. (and she can drive a 5 speed!) She went to two different stations that day thinking it might be the first station she was at.

I mean, I've been filling up the tank of various cars for the past 20 years and never had this issue. Before we bought the GT, I rented a Outback from Hertz just to check size and took the family on a road trip for business. Filled up 3 times without even thinking about it. No mess.

This is like there is a cork just past the exterior flap of the fuel line.

The only difference I have noticed with this car when filling up is that once the pump clicks off it is over, you can't squeeze anymore into the tank. Also there seems to be a stop/bend in the fill spout that prevents you from sticking the pump in too far. I haven't had any problems with the tank overflowing except for when it is full. Definately check with your dealer to see what the problem is.

The problem is you're letting her drive your car. The gas thingy is something you'll be able to figure out.