LegacyGT.com

Suing the IRS in US Tax Court without a lawyer

Dispatch20

After reading about somebody's ongoing issue with the IRS, I thought it might be worthwhile to have a thread on tax audits and what to do if you disagree with the audit findings. If you have a decent argument and believe the IRS is wrong, it is actually super easy to file a law suit in US Tax Court. It only costs like $60 and it's almost certain you'll never have to attend court. And you don't have to be a lawyer to be successful.

I went through this process a couple years back over a $9k disagreement in personal income tax owed. The end result was the IRS giving up and I paid $0. It was a worthwhile hassle that I'd recommend.

Anybody want to share any experiences? Any questions about it? If it isn't obvious, I'm not a lawyer and this isn't a law forum. But this might be interesting and informative.

Did it once and not only did I win, they had to pay me an additional 14K.:lol:

No audits since then, 1992:eek:

I wonder if they got burned so bad they decided they wouldn't ever try again. :lol:

Here's a couple assorted tidbits I learned:

• Never waste your time calling the IRS. Anybody you'll ever speak to on the phone at the IRS will be completely incompetent and poorly trained. Low wage government jobs are not filled with go-getters!

• If you disagree with an audit, the first step is bringing it to appeals. The appeals process is a good idea and it's free. If Appeals sides with the IRS, then you've lost nothing. In fact, if you skip Appeals and just file a lawsuit they kick it back to Appeals, anyways.

• The only competent people you'll find at the IRS are lawyers that either work for the IRS, or are contracted by the IRS. The IRS contracts with a ton of small lawyer offices around the country to handle all the law suits.