LegacyGT.com

*FIRST POST* 1999 b4 rsk problem.

Hey guys,

This is my very first post in any forum anywhere, so please cut me some slack if I'm doing anything wrong. I dont have very good grammar skills also, so please bare with me here. :lol:

I have recently purchased a 1999 legacy b4 rsk. I will be completely honest, I don't know a whole lot about cars but I am eager to learn as much as I can. I have jumped head first into a world I know nothing about. I am a poor student with very limited income but this car just spoke to me and the price was right, so I had to have it. It was love at first sight... :wub:

When I purchased the car it had 94k km on it and is bone stock and from what I can tell was maintained fairly well from the previous owner(s). I have only put on 2k km's on it since I purchased it and I kind of baby it.

This morning I decided to go out for a drive and heard an awful noise coming from my engine. I was very surprised because the day before nothing was wrong with it and I drove it around for a few hours with no problems at all. So I decided to see what the problem was. I lifted up her skirt and tried to figure out where the noise was coming from. From what I can tell its coming from the belts. To me it sounds as if one of the bearings is broken. It's kind of a clicking/chirping noise. Once I go over 2000 rpm's the noise will go away but once I stop at a red light or let the car sit idle the sound comes back. I tried to upload a video but I wasn't able to...

So my problem is what can I do to repair this problem? Would I need to get a timing belt kit? My guess its a bearing off one of the tensioners From my research its possible to use a 2002 WRX usdm timing belt kit on a ej206 engine with no problems? The little information I have procured lead me to the TCKWP328A being a direct replacement option and would be a heck of a lot easier for me to find than an OEM kit from Japan. Is there any possibility of an easier way of fixing this problem?