LegacyGT.com

Emissions

alex0856

Hey all, I'm moving to Orange County on Tuesday and need to register my car there since my WA plates expire next month.

I've got a Cobb catted TBE on it right now...do I have to put in a stock DP for emissions testing? Or will I get away since it's catted?

You can borrow my stock DP. I'm in Torrance. Typically you only have to smog every 2 years, although the DMV does profile certain cars. I'm new to the Subie, but I've had Hondas that they made me smog every year, and at "certified Gold station's" at that..... PITA for sure.

You can get away with out of state tags, if you stay under the radar. But like scoobyscoodle said... you are moving Behind the Orange Curtain....

You will need to put on the stock DP and flash back to the stock map. I also would have the stock intercooler, bpv, etc. on the car when you get it smogged.

Welcome to the People's Republic of California.

Stock tune? I got smogged last year 2014 with my Stage 1 tune on the car. Have you had a different experience in SoCal?

Yep, fail visual without the OEM DP. If you can find an aftermarket DP with 2 cats and a CARB sticker you can probably pass SMOG, but I don't think that exists.

For 2016, I'll have to put everything as close to stock as I can in order to pass and hope that the new tests doesn't read the tune as too out of spec.

We have had this thread going in the Norcal forums -

http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/new-ca-smog-obdii-info-thread-199919.html

Yep, fail visual without the OEM DP. If you can find an aftermarket DP with 2 cats and a CARB sticker you can probably pass SMOG, but I don't think that exists.

For 2016, I'll have to put everything as close to stock as I can in order to pass and hope that the new tests doesn't read the tune as too out of spec.

We have had this thread going in the Norcal forums -

http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/new-ca-smog-obdii-info-thread-199919.html