LegacyGT.com

Leak While In Neutral?

Afternoon everyone,

A few days ago I became the proud owner of a manual 2008 Legacy GT. I've put a few hundred miles on it already (drove it for a weekend before buying) and everything seemed to check out fine. Today, however, I found a streak of fluid leading into my driveway and pooled beneath the car (passenger side). It looks like it started after shifting into neutral while pulling in, though after the initial streak it turned to patches. It smells like oil and is brown in color, but that's about the extent of my car knowledge. So...a few points to keep in mind:

1) The vehicle has 105k miles on it.

2) The oil and filter were replaced ~120 miles ago. As well as the front passenger CV axle.

3) I am new to driving a manual as a daily driver (previous experience stems purely from moving vehicles around the car lot, putting gas in sold vehicles for customers, etc.) As such, I am still fairly rough on the clutch, especially in 1st and 2nd gear.

4) I had just come back from about an hour and a half long drive around the town and back highways (trying to clock as much time as possible to help become a competent manual driver).

Any thoughts on what it might be?

The fact that you just had the passenger side axle replaced leads me to think the axle seal is now leaking, they are somewhat delicate.

Gear oil looks similar to motor oil, but it has a very strong, unique smell.

In your shoes, I would recommend going under the car to see if there is any fluid leaking down from where the person circled in the image below.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v238/mschmidt/DSC05728.jpg

I borrowed that image from the thread below

http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/front-half-shaft-leak-axle-seali-92936.html

If you are unable to go under the car to check for a leak, I would recommend keeping an eye on your transmission fluid level. The transmission dipstick has a yellow handle, and is located on the passenger side of the car.