LegacyGT.com

changing stock exhaust

1kotic1

Hey there. I just have a couple questions i have a subaru legacy 2.5L H4 DOHC 16V TURBO and would like to know 1st what the performance difference is between getting a full exhaust sytem compared to a cat-back sytem? And 2nd whats the best aftermarket exhaust to get for this car? I live in california now but the car will be actually in tennesse. I'm already looking into a cold air intake and possibly a rechip or dyno or diablo tune? I would really like your opinions since i have never worked on a subaru before.

• 2 weeks later...

I'd say it will all depend on what you're planing on doing. When you say full I'm guessing you mean from the turbo all the way to the back? You'd have the down-pipe which would contain the cat and then the cat-back after it.

Your going to get gains by going with a different downpipe, however you will need to get a tune and you'll be "stage 2". A cat-back doesn't require a tune but can make the exhaust much louder.

Don't do the cold air unless you get the tune shortly after.

-Britton

Start here: http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/unofficial-legacy-gt-stage-upgrade-definitions-48123.html

You can skip stage 1 and 2 and go directly to 3.

Tuning: http://legacygt.com/forums/forumdisplay.php/tuning-84.html

I highly recommend a pro-tune.

Stay with the stock air box if you decide to stick with stage 1-2.

Imo, catbacks are more for sound with minimal performance gains. A full exhaust system would have to put you on stage 2 up as an aftermarket downpipe would be part of the full system.

I suggest going with suspension and brake upgrades first. They were the best back for the buck for me.

Best bang-for-buck is a stage 2 tune. Most owners will be happy with the stage 2 setup. Tune and downpipe (and a catless uppipe on the 05-06 cars).