LegacyGT.com

Gear Shifter Stiff/ Now, Not Working (loose)

Hi all. Haven't been on the Forum for a few months as I'd been using my neighbour's Ford van. Now that it has died from electrical issues I'm hoping to survive on my beater of Subie. Ugly as heck but it's still a great car.

It had been stored outdoors at my friend's house, Sept-Feb (not driven). He drove it 90 minutes (to my city). The gear shifter (automatic) was VERY hard to use; male friend had to move it through the gears for me. Car ran great except for this issue. Then this morning, I managed to drag it into Reverse but could not for the life of me get it back into Drive. Friend came out and managed to at least return the car to my driveway (thank God). But now something appears to be broken (the shifter just slides through all the gears as if it's one vertical channel). I'm thinking the friend really applied a lot of pressure to move it so maybe something snapped.

My question: As a total Newbie, is there anything I can be trying to eyeball under the car or is this going to involve some major work and expense? If it's going to involve a tow somewhere then I'll buy a BCAA card as those take 48 hrs to be activated. If something that could be looked at in my driveway, then of course I'd rather save the $100 to put towards repairs.

Would really appreciate some advice, related links to read, etc. Much appreciated. Thank you.

Seeing as how I have two non-running cars in my driveway right now I've decided to donate my old Subie to the Donate-A-Car program (Canada). Can choose which charity will benefit from any profits in its sale (recycling for mine). My car's exterior is ugly as heck but it has many new engine parts and great interior; hopefully someone will benefit.