LegacyGT.com

Is this rust bad?

Been toying the idea of going to take a look at this SUS.

http://washingtondc.craigslist.org/nva/cto/4879641090.html

The seller says there is no other rust that what is visible in the pics (which I feel I can repair). However (directed to those you with Subie's in the rust belt) is it typical to have rust in more important structural areas underneath (like front or rear sub frame) when the quarters rust like this?

Otherwise, sounds like it might be worth a look for $900 (even though I am not in the need for another car right now). Owner says he has replaced the headgaskets and the car drives well.

I'm not sure if the entire exhaust or just part of it needs to be replaced.

Ouch! That is repairable, but will require a lot of work to do properly. The professional way to fix it would be to cut out a panel from a donor vehicle and weld it on and go from there. I'm not a pro, but I did take a couple of community autobody classes.

The undercoating does a good job of keeping the body from rusting underneath but you'd have to crawl under there and take a look of course. The subframe components will probably be a little rusty but usually just look bad although they are fine structurally, at least in the case of my 95 L. But I do remember a guy posting that his components were just crumbling away.

What sucks is you really have to make sure you cut all the rust out because even a tiny bit will lurk underneath and come back. It's a bummer since I repaired my wagon and some rust is bubbling back up on my rear quarter. But I didn't do any welding.

Seems like an ok deal for a good running vehicle though. If I was going to do it again I'd go the junk hard and cut out panels and pay a pro to weld them on and I'd do the rest, but I think it would be $1500 or something crazy.