LegacyGT.com

a/f learning questions /assist.

AMileHighLGT

I recenetly purchased this 06 LGT, and i have been running down small things with it since the day i purchased, which has not been a problem, I work in a shop and have all the necessary tools. I got into data logging here recently after finally getting the vag com cable and rr operational on win8.

I was having an issue initially with a/f learning a approaching nearly +20, i do not have the ltv snapshot of this, however, i ran down what i thought that issue was caused by. At 102k the oe intake boot had oil rot at the compressor inlet. I replaced that reset the ecu and had a nice low +4 a/f learn a. Then one day i had the blue tee blow apart, fixed that and reset ecu. just recently i logged again and I had an a/f learning a of +11.10.

Today at the shop when i had a break i smoked my intake, and i had found what was a very small leak back in the intake boot where the pcv rebreaths. Snugged that up and reset the ecu. Did not get a chance to log until my home tonight. I am now seeing a a/f learn of 14.7. I can smoke my car and i did after snugging that pcv plastic connection back into the intake boot. I didn't see a wiff of smoke. From what I have read here is that a/f learning a high is usually before the compressor inlet leak. Now is this USUALLY or this always?

I ask for two reasons.

One i suspect my bpv gasket may be leaking. I hear a lot of boost noise upfront of the driver, like massive air leak.

Two, when i replaced my intake boot i removed the bolts from my upper plenum inorder for some clearance, i did not pull the plenum out. I checked the oring gaskets with a mirror before reinstall, I am certain they did not roll out.. however with 102k, that may have been enough to make them leak.

My next question, what would be the best way to test the bpv for leaking to atmosphere? Again, i can smoke it, do i need to apply vacuum to it first?