LegacyGT.com

Learning about tuning?

RJS5689

I am getting ready to have Infamous1 make me a Stage 2 map for my car. I want to learn more about data logging and numbers though. I understand boost targets, issues like boost creep and boost spike, but there is still a lot I don't understand like timing, wastegate duty cycles and many other important parameters. Where can I read up on these types of things to get a better understanding of what they are. I want to be able to understand the datalogs I send to my tuner, not just look at Excel spreadsheets with numbers I don't fully understand. I want to be able to detect issues like knock and any other problem I could run into down the line. I guess you could say I'm a complete noob to the Subaru tuning world. This stuff is very different from how we did it with VW/Audi.

So I assume you are familliar with engine managemnt. If not I'd start with this [ame=http://www.amazon.com/Engine-Management-Advanced-Greg-Banish/dp/1932494421]Amazon.com: Engine Management: Advanced Tuning (9781932494426): Greg Banish:[/ame]. If you are try the tuning faq on romraider.com.

I suggest reading this book before the Banish book that black318i linked to:

[ame=http://www.amazon.com/Modify-Management-Systems-Motorbooks-Workshop/dp/0760315825/ref=pd_bbs_2/104-5210105-7235902?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1177224074&sr=8-2]Amazon.com: How to Tune and Modify Engine Management Systems (Motorbooks Workshop) (9780760315828): Jeff Hartman: Books[/ame]

The Banish book assumes some familiarity with engine managment (it's titled "advanced tuning") whereas the Hartman book starts from first principles.

I read both of them and I think the Banish book is much better even for someone who knows nothing about engine management. It does include some pretty advanced stuff even a little in the beginning, but there are a lot of basics as well. Chapter four thoroughly goes over every sensors function. Chapter two even includes an overview of how engines work.