LegacyGT.com

mystery squeak NEED HELP!!

Ok so I have a 1998 legacy gt automatic with a 2.2L (changed over the life of the car). I got the car back in June, and started noticing a squeak around mid-July or so when the car is at idle in either reverse or drive (under some load), and when the car is up to temperature after about 10 mins of driving. I'm going to check the transmission fluid tomorrow, but I just did a timing belt/water pump/tensioner job on the engine today, expecting it to be a bearing problem with one of those three items (a local shop pinpointed the noise to behind the crankcase, but that may not be the case). But, just my luck, the squeak continues. I'm tired and angry and want to find answers because a stupid squeak shouldn't be this much of a job! Any ideas/thoughts/similar issues??

and for any that checked the 98-04 forum sorry about this...I'm still new to Subaru and haven't really figured out where my legacy's body type falls under :(

Pretty constant at idle, reacts to engine speed, but isn't noticeable in the higher rpm range. I tried taking off the accessory belts the other day but the squeak was only reduced, so it's got to be just a problem under load (bearing maybe?).

Where are the engine mounts/dogbone brace, and would they squeak obnoxiously if there was a problem with them?

we have the issue with are manual.. the throwout bearing return spring needs replaced.. not sure what is causing yours.. might check motor mounts or trans mount

i think i know what your talking about, im on my 3rd throw out bearing in 6 months, you think its tyhe return spring? the shop that did my clutch just keeps replacing the bearing (for free) maybe ill take it back to them and see if they will do that for me. or ill just do it myself if they wont do it for free again

engine mounts are under the engine and attaches the motor to the frame. Rubber on steel plate to isolate vibration.