LegacyGT.com

'97 Engine stalls out right after starting

This is my first time on here, so hello.

I took my '97 legacy, which i've had for about a year without any previous problems always runs great, to an instant oil change place yesterday and when they went to start it up again after changing the oil, and it started just fine, it wouldn't idle and stalled out a few seconds after starting. They checked everything that they touched and said that it wasn't anything that they had done. I was able to start it in neutral and drop it into drive while revving it to keep it from stalling out and got it home.

I'm not really a very mechanical guy so i don't even know where to start looking other than taking it to a dealer which i don't want to do if i can avoid it.

Thanks for any help

Hmm. Did they disconnect the battery for some reason? Maybe youre ECU was inadvertantly reset and is trying to relearn itself. Right after resetting the ECU it takes a few hours or at least a day for it to get back on track. At first it can do just what youre describing. Starting up, immediately followed by it dying on you. But this should go away the more you drive it.

Then again, I have no idea if this is even the problem. Just a possible suggestion. I'd ask them if they disconnected the battery for any reason.

Last time I reset my ECU (unplugged battery overnight) I didn't any problems.

Also do you have the check engine light on?

Maybe its more noticeable if you have a 5MT. Forgot to ask him if he had an automatic or not. But everytime I reset the ECU, uggh. It takes a while but mine stalls out a million times at first.

Maybe its more noticeable if you have a 5MT. Forgot to ask him if he had an automatic or not. But everytime I reset the ECU, uggh. It takes a while but mine stalls out a million times at first.

Funny, I have never had a problem resetting my ECU.

Oh, and he has an auto