LegacyGT.com

EGR valve replacement

gathermewool

Just pulled a CEL code: PO400 (low exhaust recirc flow, or something like that.) I'm still relatively new to cars, so how hard would it be to replace an EGR (Exhaust Gas Recirc) valve, and where might be the best place to find a good, cheap part? Thanks in advance! : )

'15 FB25

Magnatec 0W-20 + FU filter (70,517 miles)

RSB, Fr. Strut Bar, Tint, STI BBS, LED er'where

• 3 weeks later...
An EGR is a pretty quick and easy fix, looking at the motor from the front of the car its mounted on the back of your intake manifold on the right side. there are just two 12mm nuts holding it in, its even in a pretty easy spot to reach. so just the nuts and the vaccum hose and you may need a scraper or razorblade to get the old gasket off.

• 1 month later...
How timely! I just got the same code on my Legacy. I was wondering if the faulty EGR valve can be cleaned out/unclogged. Or should I just punt and throw a fresh one on. I found one online for about $135 [good price?].

• 3 months later...

I haven't updated this in a while. I received a lot of help on Nasioc, and kind of forgot about this post after a bit. As an update:

All of the components seem to work. At temperature, when I blip the throttle the EGR valve opens. When I manually open the EGR valve while the engine is at idle it bogs down. This proved to me that the solenoid and transducer worked (since the EGR valve opened when I blipped the throttle) and that the EGR valve was ok since the engine bogged down, indicating flow through it. CEL has been steady with the same code for months now, with out change.