LegacyGT.com

OBD II Error Code P1505

Yahiko81

I just bought this 01 legacy back in august, it had 94k miles on it, and now it's up to about 97k. It's a 2.5l 5 speed. Lately when I start it up in the mornings it will idle funny sometimes it jumps up to 3k rpm just idleing and then drops back down to below 1k. My check engine light came on when i first had it. So I picked up an OBDII reader and it was the P0420. Had a friend tell me that catalytic converter might still be under warranty so call a dealer. I did and they said no it was only 80k, but it could have come on due to a climate change. So i just cleared it out and it hasn't come back. I've been told changing my spark plugs, wires, and coil pack will probably solve the problem. I was just curious if anyone on here had seen this before. I'm a novice at car repair, but I don't mind giving it a go. Also is there anything else I should be doing/replacing at 100k?

Don't be so quick to jump to plugs and wires. As you've already said it only happens when you first start up the car, if it were the ignition it would more then likely be a constant problem.

DTC P1505 stands for Idle Control Circuit high input. What this means (to me being a student, who just so happens to be pretty good at diagnosis, so it may not be exactly right) is that for some reason the IAC (Idle Air Control valve) is opening up to much and letting in to much air causing a rough high idle.

Do you happen to have any experience with a DVOM (Digital Volt Ohm Meter)?