LegacyGT.com

Yes or No for self service.

BLKGT5

Clutch Service  

15 members have voted

1. 1. Clutch Service

• Pay $400 for local shop to install clutch?
    • Use $400 for downpipe and risk installing a clutch for the first time?

Suggestions.

Should I consider a clutch replacement myself?

I've disassembled and modified engines down to the block, but I have no crank and piston experience. I've done everything else, but I have very limited transmission experience.

I want to save money from the labor and use it for more parts like a down pipe, instead of wasting. ($400.00)

I'm wanting to install a ACT lightweight flywheel and heavy duty pressure plate with a street disc.

Will I need new flywheel bolts or do they come with the flywheel?

Any special tools I should invest in for this job?

I say do it yourself and learn something. When do you want to do it?

I agree with him^^^^ If your mechanicly inclined and have a decent set of tools

it is not extremely difficult. Acess to a lift would make it 75% easier. You will need

a disk alignment tool.

You also should plan on alternate transportation as it could take you a while doing one on your back. I'd also recomend having a helper when you pull the transaxle down.

Just be carefull and make sure you have the car securely on jack stands!!

I could not have paid for the mods that I have so far if I had to pay for installs. A clutch and flywheel is a tough DIY job, but not too tough if you have a helper. You can rent a trans jack and jack stands are pretty cheap.

Mods I've done in my driveway:

iOn Sport springs

Koni Struts

Whiteline Front/Rear Sway Bars

AVO RSB bracket

Whiteline Roll Center Kit

LCA Super Pro Bushings

Goodridge Brake Lines

DBA 4000 Rotors

Hawk Brake Pads

So far I've paid $20.00 to have the LCA bushings pressed out/in and $59.95 for a 4 wheel alignment.:)

I was quoted $1185.00 for the rest of the installs.:eek:

$400 seems not much for clutch job