LegacyGT.com

1999 Legacy Sedan L

DAVE SPEARS

I HAVE A 1999 LEGACY L SEDAN WITH LIMITED SLIP REAR END - THIS LAST WEEK THE CAR SEEMS TO BIND UP LIKE A 4WD TRUCK WITH FRONT HUBS LOCKED IN ON DRY PAVEMENT WHEN YOUR TURNING LEFT OR RIGHT TIGHT - IE: INTO A PARKING SPACE - HAS NO VIBRATIONS OR ANY DRIVELINE NOISE IN A STRAIGHT LINE OR WIDER TURNS - RUNS FANTASTIC - 1 WISH I HAD 2 OF THESE IN THE FAMILY (HAVE TO WAIT TO THE ASTRO VAN DIES ) I'M A SERVICE CONSULTANT FOR A CHEV/CADILLAC DEALER (20 YRS DOING THIS NOW) AND WE DONT HAVE A LOCAL SUBARU DEALER IN TOWN - NEED ANY HELP OR SUGGESTIONS THANK DAVE SPEARS :icon_conf :icon_conf :icon_conf :icon_conf :icon_conf

I HAVE A 1999 LEGACY L SEDAN WITH LIMITED SLIP REAR END - THIS LAST WEEK THE CAR SEEMS TO BIND UP LIKE A 4WD TRUCK WITH FRONT HUBS LOCKED IN ON DRY PAVEMENT WHEN YOUR TURNING LEFT OR RIGHT TIGHT - IE: INTO A PARKING SPACE - HAS NO VIBRATIONS OR ANY DRIVELINE NOISE IN A STRAIGHT LINE OR WIDER TURNS - RUNS FANTASTIC - 1 WISH I HAD 2 OF THESE IN THE FAMILY (HAVE TO WAIT TO THE ASTRO VAN DIES ) I'M A SERVICE CONSULTANT FOR A CHEV/CADILLAC DEALER (20 YRS DOING THIS NOW) AND WE DONT HAVE A LOCAL SUBARU DEALER IN TOWN - NEED ANY HELP OR SUGGESTIONS THANK DAVE SPEARS :icon_conf :icon_conf :icon_conf :icon_conf :icon_conf

If its auto it sounds like torque bind. i.e. something in the auto tranny. If so $1200-$1400. If manual sounds like viscous coupling. $1000. I have a 99 with a 5speed. The tranny has 170k on it. It is showing signs of the viscous coupling problem. My plan is to swap the tranny for a lower miles one due to syncros going also.

• 3 weeks later...