LegacyGT.com

Clutch shake!

Spec B

So..I have a total of 3,300 miles on my car and I have launched the car 1 time hard, the rest of the time it has been normal aggressive highway driving.

So today, after sitting in traffic for like 20 minutes, I get cut off by some mini van and in a fit of anger I launched the car at like 4000 rpm..something I have never done before. As I engaged 1st that car did nothing..I mean it rolled to about 4 mph as the RPMS shot up with the clutch fully let out..I shifted into 2nd and got off the gas slightly because I needed to get moving. eventually 2nd gear caught and I was up to about 30 mph. then I rolled to a stop and there was a burnt rubber smell (not the normal burnt clutch stink) every where and got out to inspect and everything seemed fine.

However, now ever time I engage the clutch in 1st gear the car has a pretty bad shake right at the engagement point. The clutch does not slip in any of the high gears and it launches fine from 2000 rpm...no slip. but during normal engagement, the car shakes pretty bad..any ideas what I might have broken?

+1 the stock clutch cannot take the heat of a hard slip launch. it WILL glaze over and slip, as it was designed to do. just let it cool down and it will be good again.

The same thing is going on with my car. I have 9500 miles. Its at Subaru as we speak. The shake isn't going away though.

mine will start making the whole car shutter really badly if im in like ATL stop and go traffic for hours at a time...but it always fixes itself in the morning

ditto

My car does that in the morning as well on the way to work. I am constantly changing from 1st to 2nd. (I should just get an automatic beater)

MT is the worst in traffic.

ditto

My car does that in the morning as well on the way to work. I am constantly changing from 1st to 2nd. (I should just get an automatic beater)

MT is the worst in traffic.