LegacyGT.com

Car Show Tips Anyone?

Im headin to a car show this weekend I was wonering if anyone could give me some tips on how to steal the win in my class, I already made a plaque deal so the dumbass judges know what their looking at, it tells the mods and factory stats and such. The car is clean as hell...you could eat off the engine.... the trunk looks rediculosly empty...any ideas there. Or just any other tips would be cool.

peace

Just remember it's more about CLEAN than it is about mods and how much money you have in your car. I have been doing this for over 20 years with a 100% stock '86 Dodge Daytona Turbo Z and I win because my car is better than new CLEAN. I have beaten many cars that have been modded, chromed and in general have had a ton of money dumped into them. Their owners are almost always pissed that they lost to a stock car. The area most people slack in is the engine compartment which you seem to keep clean but, look at it again as if you are a judge. Is the top or most visable part of the engine compartment clean, but are the harder to see parts just as clean. Like the area around the radiator, battery, block, visable front suspension pieces or wires and hoses. When I say clean I am not just talking about oil or other fluides on parts but also dust or production residues. Something as simple as dust in corners or on wires will cause judges to look elsewhere regardless of your mods. Also don't forget about the underside of the hood itself.

What do your your wheel wells look like? What about your wheels (front and back)? The same goes for your tires, don't just apply tire dressing to the front of your tires, do the backs and the treads. Backs can be done before you go to the show as long as its not raining, treads after you are parked. What about the underside of the car? If your car is a daily driver this area is probably the worst.