LegacyGT.com

Drivelines and Tire Replacement

stedler

Hi Everybody,

got a question...

I've been told by the dealer that tire replacement on my 05' Legacy 2.5i, and because of the Driveline, they say all four tires have to be replaced together and tire pressure needs to be monitored constantly to insure proper inflation in all four tires.

Now through research I was able to find out that the new driveline is a 45/55, power and torque split... (45 front/ 55rear). The dealer says that power is applied to all four all the time and if replacement isn't in fours driveline binding can occur.:eek:

I have no experience with subaru's, this is my first one, but I know that 4x4's with locking diffs it's the same way. four tires at a time.

I've been to dealers that will tell you anything to get more money from you. But I have no reason to doubt the Suby Dealer.

anyone have any experience with this?

Thanx

yeah its true. I noticed my front tires were hella bald, and my rears were fine (at least 50% life left), and I started hearing noises. I thought it was the tires, so I changed em, thought it was balancing, so I had them rebalanced (free of course), I even went to the dealer, and they said, "Yeah, with fron tires being bald and rears fine, that WILL cause a prob." They wouldnt lie to me, cuz they were gonna fix it under warranty anyways. So I brought them for a ride, they couldnt hear it. They put it up on the lift, and drive it to listen under the car. It was an exhaust leak from removing my resonator and having a shop weld a straight pipe in, lol.

So yeah, it wasnt the prob I had, but it DEFINATELY CAN cause problems. My tranny seems fine though. The sound I heard at 50mph and above changed tones/quited down some when I fixed the leak. It sounded like the center diff though, so I was freaked out.

My.Subaru.com