LegacyGT.com

Thinking about 00'-04' Legacy GT LTD

sweetz86

I currently own a Nissan 300ZX. I am looking for another car. I considered a VW Jetta, but reliability is too iffy. I also like the 00'-04' Legacys a lot. I hear that Subies are pretty reliable. I have also heard that maintenance is very costly. Could anyone possibly give me a ball park estimate of yearly maintenance/ repair cost. I am a college student so I do not want to buy something that is maintenance intensive. I am slo fairly handy as far as cars go. Are the Legacys hard to work on? Any help is appreciated!:icon_mrgr

Subaru major maintenance intervals are every 30,000 miles and involve:

1. Complete filter change out (air, fuel, oil)
  2. Oil drain, refill
  3. Change the spark plugs (Use the cheap OEM NGK Coppers only - nothing else works as well)
  4. Inspect brakes
  5. and a few other fluid level checks/inspections
  6. Coolant drain, refill (If you don't know Subarus, don't try this at home)
  7. Brake flush (standard drain, refill, bleed)

Otherwise, it's just change the oil/filter every 3,000 miles and maintain proper trim on the fluids and tire pressures.

If you can do steps 1-5 yourself, the parts will cost you a ~$60.00 for genuine OEM Subaru parts. Check out the tune-up kit prices at www.1stsubaruparts.com. The 3rd Gen Legacys are easy to work on and the SOHC heads make it really easy to change the plugs.

Steps 6 and 7 at the dealer should run you about $100.00. If you have the dealer do all of the required maintenance, you're looking at $350-$400 on the 3rd Gen Legacys.

If you figure you'll only have to do this about every other year, you could save up money each month for your maintenance fund... yeah right :) ... and have it all paid for when it comes time to do it

Overall, I'd say that the inexpensive maintenance on my Subarus is one of the things I appreciate about the brand. That and their reliability day-in and day-out.

SBT

- Pro amore Dei et patriam et populum -