LegacyGT.com

Extreme oil consumption

So back in Nov 2005 I buy a beautiful LGT ltd from Budd's Subaru near oakville, it was a "managers car" read demo with 7k kms on it. Got a good deal on a car above my normal price range things were going great.

The car even drives well sometimes and except for the usual clutch stink/slip, studdering, defective pressure plate, pitted brake rotors, rattles, etc, no *real* problems. Edit: and eventually a completely rebuilt engine!

I am currently at 33k kms on the odo and have driven the car around 25k kms since I bought it with 7k kms.

While I am not a mechanic, I love cars and I love my cars, and I do my best to maintain them and keep alert and on top of problems.

I religiously change oil every 5k kms and service on time. Usually between 2000-3000kms after a change I will check the oil. My first oil change at 12k kms I switched to Mobil 1 synthetic.

When I have checked my oil midway between changes each time I was shocked and horrified to find the oil reading so low as to only be a speck or drop on the end of the dipstick. :icon_surp I have had gas station attendents and CAA/AAA guys look at the dipstick all with the same horrified reaction.

In panic each time I called the delear, added a few quarts and brought it in. Each time I got it back with the delear saying "low 1 qrt, normal". What am I to say?

Yesterday after some long driving when moving slowly I heard this, "click-click-click", "tick-tick-ticking" noise, not the usual engine tick but a "something is wrong tick". My brakes seemed to be fairly pitted after the long drive and were exhibiting shake so when I heard the noise I thought, hmm probably the brakes.

Today I call subaru to book an appt and question the service guy and he suggests I check the oil. I said "I just had an oil change 2000kms ago, but Ill check".