LegacyGT.com

Subaru Legacy wagon gt b 1996 jdm

Hey everyone.

I’m a total car noob. I learned to drive stick initially, then owned two automatic Nissan Sentra 2000s.

My Sentra died and I decided it was time to get a car I’d enjoy driving.

Picked up this jdm legacy gtb: http://www.jdmautoimports.com/1996-subaru-legacy-gt-b-bg5-bilstein-twin-turbo-5-speed-ej20tt-rhd-for-sale-usa.html

What should I do to make sure it’s in top shape? I’ve been giving it 93 octane, it’s the best I can get. Have octane booster in the mail to put in before each tank to get it closer to 95 octane.

I’ve been watching lots of conquer driving on YouTube, he has a bunch of great manual driving videos. Lately I’ve been trying to get better at getting into first and second gear more quickly by blipping the throttle. How high should I be doing this?

I can smoothly transition gears, but I fail at this and don’t want to drive like a grandma, but also want to take care of this beauty.

What rpm should I blip to, and what rpm should I wait for the needle to fall to before dropping the clutch?

Generally speaking what rpm makes sense for each gear? 

What rpm do I have to blip to and then wait for the needle to fall to when downshifting?

What rpm makes sense for smooth shifts?

I know a lot of this will come with time and feel, but I am trying to minimize any wear on tear on the car that I can.

Anything maintenance wise I should get taken care of right away? I don’t want to skimp on babying this car as I want it to last forever.

Should I replace the timing belt? 

Appreciate any manual driving tips / general Subaru Legacy tips. As stated, all very new to this. Thanks — excited to be a member of this community !

Edited by megasquid
Typo