LegacyGT.com

Road noise - sound deadening

Hi everyone,

I tried searching the site for this, but may not have used the correct keywords. I have a 2019 Legacy 3.6R and have had it about 10k miles (bought new in May). The car seems much noisier than other cars in terms of road noise - even coming from a 2011 Fusion. Has anyone had any luck using sound deadening material like Dynamat?

I have never used it before and searches online are typically coupled with music/speaker use cases. Has anyone put sound deadening in for road noise? I was thinking of doing the doors and trunk (easiest access). Any suggestions or recommendations?

Also, these factory tires after one minor snow fall... terrible traction on top of the usual loud whining noise. That could be the next thing to change.

Thanks for the help!

My 2019 3.6r is pretty quiet... after swapping the stock crap tires for Michelin AS3+ tires... YMMV.

There is a great site run by a guy names Don who just retired this year. Grab the info here before he retires the site: https://www.sounddeadenershowdown.com/

Check out the "3 steps to quiet a vehicle" and go into the rabbit hole as deep as you dare... I've used all of his products on multiple vehicles and highly recommend them, just have to source the materials yourself now that he doesn't sell directly anymore... the information on his site is still 100% valid and useful though.

I thought it was the weird window design that caused the rushing noise.

I think you might be closer to the mark here. I definitely think it's some sort of aerodynamic problem that causes "the rushing noise" ... whether it's the "window design" that you are talking about, or something else.