LegacyGT.com

437 K Legacy Wagon Won't Crank

Hello All,

I have a 91 Wagon that was a daily driver until 2 days ago. 140 miles per day. 437k miles so it's almost broke in!

I drove it to work and went to move it at lunch and it would turn over but not start. It does not sound like it's firing in any cylinder.

I verified fuel was getting pumped and spark was getting to the plugs. Cylinder have compression but I didn't measure it.

Fuel and starting fluid into the intake does nothing.

I'm a welder and car work is by no means my strong point. Is there something I am missing?

It has been flashing codes for MAF sensor , coolant temp sensor,knock sensor, and Airflow sensor.

Would one of these cause an issue when trying starting fluid right into the intake manifold?

Thanks

Gerald

It did finally start and they pressure never got above 30 and it's pretty rough.

The 1st time the head gaskets were EVER replaced was 2 years ago. It must mean ole Fuji heavy industry assemblers and gaskets were pretty good.

I appreciate the feedback and may be back as I work through getting her back on the road. Will not stay in 4th gear either so some major work is ahead if I decide to do it....i hate to give up with those power seat belts still working. Seems just wrong!

• 3 weeks later...

30psi is incredibly low, hot or cold.

An engine really only needs 3 things to operate- fuel, spark, and compression. Even an extremely poorly timed engine would still at least sputter or backfire a couple times even if it didn't actually start or run. If it was something sensor or computer related, etc, it would probably just be preventing your plugs from firing or causing your fuel pump not to turn on. You said that you have verified that the plugs are firing and tried starting fluid, so I'd say it's pretty safe to say it's a compression issue. Does it sound normal when cranking? Low compression usually doesn't sound right.