LegacyGT.com

2019 - VF40 - Trusted CHRA retailer?

Edit: DIY job done, see a few posts down for details.

Hey all,

To those who have rebuilt VF40s using CHRAs purchased online - who did you use and how'd it work out? Experiencing all symptoms of failure, and hoping to order a cartridge tonight.

I'll keep this post simple but can answer any questions if there are any. Added year to the title for search reasons. I get a lot of valuable info from these forums and will add pics of the rebuild to this thread later. Thanks!

Edited by Praetor353

Thanks! I'll keep that info in mind. I'm a lifelong mechanic, I'll be doing it myself, just looking for a reliable/good/properly built and balanced CHRA assembly. I'll google Mellett when I get home, and maybe PM him for his .02

Edit- Ordered a Melett CHRA on ebay for $244 shipped (expedited/free). The same thing on their UK website converted to $266. Also ordered a Mahle gasket set GS33536 to go with. Messaged/texted JMP but he was unresponsive

Edited by Praetor353

• 2 weeks later...

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1YmA0yO6d63edG5a2k0lpFJJUMKssB98U

(not sure if this picture will show from google drive, if not I'll just leave the link)

Melett CHRA installed. It was straight forward, but did take time. Making marks to clock it was a step that could be skipped, the IC and UP flange should be pointing directly away from each other, and there is a very small roll pin to orient the turbine housing to CHRA. I used a light coat of copper RTV on the compressor housing where it bolts to the CHRA.

Once apart, I found the turbine inducer chopped up. That was the noise I suspected to be contact when I let off the throttle.

I used an air hammer to quickly brap the turbine housing off. It's semi-pressed onto the CHRA. You could use a MAP torch to heat it after taking the V band clamp off, then manually hammer it off. I used a wire wheel on a high speed drill to clean the turbine-to-chra mating surface.