LegacyGT.com

Help with live data reading

Just bought a bluedriver for my 05 lgt (manual) and curious about the live data readings. I'm pretty new to the Subaru world and want to make sure I maintain this car the best I can. Would anyone be interested in looking at the data and see if there is anything I should be concerned about? Or be willing to give me a few tips on what to look for. http://cloud.tapatalk.com/s/5c32bbedcb9c6/1546709008554_1546709005770_0_VehicleInfo-Jan_05_2019_12-21-17-PM.pdf

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

I'm not super familiar with that particular module, but it looks like your typical OBDII scan tool with Mode $06 capability. I started with one as well, but quickly learned that it wouldn't show a lot of the data that can be read via Subaru's proprietary protocol, Subaru Select Monitor (SSM). I honestly don't know the full list of live data that can be read with OBDII on a Subaru, so I'll leave any discussion on that end to those that know more.

If you'd like to access SSM data, there's a few ways to do it. For software, your simplest options are the BtSSM app which can be run on your Android device, or RomRaider Logger which can be run on your PC.

A good summary of viable adapters is given on the BtSSM website: https://www.btssm.com/?page=hardware

By far the cheapest option is the K-Line cable, which is what I started with. These can be a bit tricky to get working, but should work for your car. Some extra info below:

https://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/vag-com-cables-chipsets-ft232rl-ch340-214994p2.html

Personally, I use the BtSSM bluetooth adapter for the convenience of logging and monitoring via an Android device.

Regarding data to monitor: