LegacyGT.com

P0171...again

Hello All,

N00B here,

I got a new/used engine installed just over a month ago at a shop. Now I had the CEL come on again, but not for misfire but for P0171. I am not sure what is causing it. It does not idle rough, it starts right up and no overheating. I am thinking it could be my fuel pump? Car has 175,000 miles on it. But the fuel has been good, never has given me a problem before.

Also, when I drive it hard (like shifting right before redline) smoke starts coming out of the engine, not a lot or clouds of it but just enough and it smells bad. I opened the hood before and it looked like it was coming out of the turbo area but I could not tell (Im a bad mechanic). However driving normally, theres no smoke whatsoever.

Thanks.

MAF could need cleaning. The fuel pump after 175k could be due for a replacement but you’d have other issues on top if it was failing. Check for intake vacuum or boost leaks, especially look for the Blue t-fitting under the intercooler, you’ll need to pull it off to get to it.

As for the smoke, it’s coming from the engine bay not the exhaust in the back right? If the smoke is blue that is definitely oil leaking somewhere so look for oil dripping onto the exhaust. Any oil consumption issues? I’d take it back to the shop for them to fix it because it might be their fault from the engine install.

MAF could need cleaning. The fuel pump after 175k could be due for a replacement but you’d have other issues on top if it was failing. Check for intake vacuum or boost leaks, especially look for the Blue t-fitting under the intercooler, you’ll need to pull it off to get to it.

As for the smoke, it’s coming from the engine bay not the exhaust in the back right? If the smoke is blue that is definitely oil leaking somewhere so look for oil dripping onto the exhaust. Any oil consumption issues? I’d take it back to the shop for them to fix it because it might be their fault from the engine install.