LegacyGT.com

fuel lines/fpr and idle issues

I tried to make this easy to read and easy to follow, but I think it's probably the opposite of that..

I'm a newb with fuel system stuff... legit ocd for a long time, I just don't touch fuel system stuff, kind of like a lot of electrical stuff in my house, with exceptions. trying to figure out what's causing some small issues I'm having with my non-turbo legacy.

Long story short..

-The attached picture is not from my car.

-Does the orientation of these round "dampers" matter? My top one is right side up like in the picture, but the bottom one is sideways, so that the bottom is facing the driver side fender.

-The bottom hose going from the engine to the damper was replaced with napa h175 1/4" fuel line. Could that cause any issues?

-Does the bottom line only take vapors back to the fuel tank or charcoal canister? Or does it carry fuel?

-My car has two of those round "dampers", one on top, one on bottom, just like the picture. I'm guessing one of those is the FPR, but I don't know which one, and why there are two..

Current issues

-When I left off the gas pedal, the car is a little jerky sometimes.

-When I'm driving down the road and shift into neutral when coming to a stop, sometimes the idle will dip down low to around 400 before it bounces back up to the normal range of around 800-900 or so.

-Sometimes when I'm just stopped and idling, the car idles perfectly smooth, but the rpms will blip up on its own. I forget how long it happens for, but it's abnormal.

-Also when shifting, the car just feels a little abnormal, shifting is a little less clean, I think it's because I'm letting off the throttle, and the car can be slightly jerky when I do that.

A little more info...

-3 or 4 weeks ago I'm driving down the road, car randomly starts jerking a lot, throws a cel. I pull over, pull the code, p0172 for one of the banks running rich.