LegacyGT.com

Strange Electrical Gremlin in 2009NA Legacy

Hey, this is my first time posting on the forum. I've looked through it quite a few times and it seems like there's really a lot of good information on here. I've been having quite a bit of trouble with my Legacy that I bought a few months ago and I was looking for some insight as to what's going on.

Here is a timeline of the issues I've had. The short timeframe and seemingly random events make me suspicious of an electrical issue but I'm not sure.

July 5- car is bought, good shape minor surface rust on underside. 79000 miles.

July 9- Airbag light comes on and stays on for the duration of a 4hr drive roundtrip. There is heavy rain that day.

August 12- My cousin drives the car from Minnesota to NM for me. He has no issues.

August 18-Driving across Kansas to get to school in Iowa, car begins to die with clutch pressed in at highway speeds. The car continues to idle poorly with clutch pressed in or out of gear for about a month.

September 15- Airbag light comes back on for about 15minutes. Idle seems better.

October 8- Acceleration felt rough at low revs a few days before. On the way back from a very short drive, The CEL and traction lights come on accompanied by. flashing cruise control light. The codes were for a misfire in cylinders 1&2. Strange whining noise coming from around the throttle valve actuator with keys in ignition but engine off.

Any input would be appreciated, thanks!

The air bag light could be a problem with the air bag indicator by the front map lights. Easy test would be turn the key on and look up and 4 lights should light up and go off after about 10 secs. If one fails to light or it looks dim thats most likely your problem. You can solder the resistors on the led board. But it's always best to pull the codes out of the computer to see what is wrong.