LegacyGT.com

Overboost Help

BehindTheLens

Hey all! I'm new to both this forum and the cobb AP. I have a 2009 Outback XT and just loaded the OTS stage 1 map from cobb. Everything else is completely stock.

As soon as I go WOT, the boost spikes up to 18ish psi and then settles back out to around 15. Is that normal? I tried both the low waste gate and normal waste gate maps and they had the same results. I've attached a datalog of a WOT 3rd gear pull if anyone more knowledgable can take a look and let me know what you think.

Thanks guys!

Matt

datalog29.csv

Target boost is 16 PSI, so that is somewhat worrisome. Some possible causes of overboost on completely stock hardware:

Sticky wastegate

Bad wastegate actuator

Failing boost control solenoid

Leaky or clogged boost control hose

Other vacuum leaks

I'd start with a smoke test. Boosting 18 PSI on a non-bulletproofed stock TMIC, chances are you've split that sucker pretty good. Running 11-12% lean at idle tends to support that notion.

Then I'd test wastegate actuation.

Thanks relative4! Is there a way to fix a sticky waste gate or bad actuator or do I need to buy a new one if that is the case? And are you seeing the 11-12% lean at idle in my logs or is that something I should check for?

This is my first turbo car, so totally new to all this.

If the 'high wastegate setting' refers to higher wastegate duty cycles, then that would mean that it would tend to increase even more the boost level since higher wastegate duty cycle means the wastegate will be closed for a longer period of time. Conversely, lower wastegate DC would then tend to favor lower boost level since it would free up some of the exhaust through the wastegate.

Conclusion: if you are overboosting, then perhaps the wastegate DC needs to be lowered.

Also, keep in mind that it is cold right now. That favors overboosting too, at least in my case, it does.

Do you have an aftermarket air intake?