LegacyGT.com

Post Turbo Failure Engine Flush Procedure?

Hi guys... Turbo noob here.

I literally just bought my 2005 legacy gt wagon. It ran and drove PERFECT for the test drive and the majority of the hour drive home. I get within a few miles, and long story short, turbo died (not catastrophic failure, but the turbine was definitely contacting the housing). I drove it maybe 20 miles before I knew what had happened, but I was driving very gently.

My question is this: what exactly do I need to do to ensure my engine doesn't go next? I've read up a lot on the banjo bolts and oil system. But what is the absolute best way to clean out the engine? Do like 5 oil changes in a 500 mile time span? I've heard bad things about engine flush products.

Many thanks in advance

You may get lucky, since you did not get a lot of metal particles in the oil yet. Unfortunately, though a flush is a good idea, it is no guarantee you won't have problems later on.

Make sure you do the steps in that FAQ. Metal particles in the oil have killed many of these engines.

Drain the oil into a clean container. If possible, run the oil through a fine mesh strainer. See what debris you find in the oil.

Suggest you remove the oil pan. It is very hard to clean all the metal debris out. You might want to just put on a new oil pan.

Replace the oil cooler. It's got too many nooks and crannies to clean out.

Remove, clean & replace the banjo bolt filters.

Put in fresh, inexpensive 10W-30 oil & filter. Start the engine and let it idle until it comes up to temperature and the fans kick on. Change the oil. You may want to cut your oil filter open to see what it filtered out.

Change oil and filter again at 500 miles/1500 miles/3000 miles. Then go back to your standard oil change interval (3750 miles is Subaru recommendation).

Keep an eye on your oil pressure if possible. Low oil pressure is a warning sign you may have bearing damage.