LegacyGT.com

98 legacy 2.5L GT Limited overheating.

I am new to subaru's so i need some help, i juat got a Legacy with the 2.5L and i am having overheating problems car has 130k and has had water pump, timing belt and timing belt tensioner and thermostate replaced. I have been bleeding the air from the system but i dont know how long or the best techniques to do. I have tried bleeding with the bleeder screw on right top side of radiator (looking at engine from inside) and running engine till warm and filling up when needed. What else can i try?

Did the overheating issue start when you replaced the thermostat and refilled the coolant? Or was it happening before then?

Did you replace the thermostat with the Subaru OEM thermostat? Do yourself a favor and use the OEM thermostat and o-ring. And are you sure the thermostat is oriented correctly?

If you compare the OEM thermostat to a generic replacement, the OEM one is typically more robust and seems to flow better. The problem that can happen is that air will get trapped close to the thermostat causing the thermostat not to sense the true water temperature, so it is slow to open, leading to overheating.

There is a useful tool to get rid of any air bubbles trapped in the system which is the Lisle Spill-Free Funnel Kit Part #24680. It makes this job neat and easy.

To bleed the air out of the cooling system, this is a useful technique:

1) (Optional, but helpful) Elevate the front end of the car slightly. Put it on ramps, or park on a slope, etc.

2) With engine cold, remove radiator pressure cap, keep bleeder valve closed, attach Lisle funnel to radiator with sealing cap from the Lisle kit.

3) Top off coolant in the overflow tank to the Full mark.